Options

Intensity

TonyCooperTonyCooper Registered Users Posts: 2,276 Major grins
edited June 27, 2014 in Sports
I'm not a pro photographer, so I can go for interesting shots
instead of the type of shots that the parents want to buy.

Yesterday's game provided a couple showing the intensity
of the pitcher. Flawed shots, to be sure, since the focus
isn't real sharp in the first and the player behind the pitcher
distracts in the second, but keepers for an amatuer.

2014-04-05-081-XL.jpg

2014-04-05-051-XL.jpg
Tony Cooper - Orlando, Florida
http://tonycooper.smugmug.com/

Comments

• Options
    johngjohng Registered Users Posts: 1,658 Major grins
    edited April 8, 2014
    Tony - nothing wrong with going for types of shots that interest you. There are some subtle things that can make these shots better and then some more difficult things. First thing is exposure - these are both over-exposed with hot spots on skin and washed-out colors. On the computer you can correct that to a large extent but it's something to pay attention to when you are behind the camera. Second - framing: Generally with a full body shot of a pitcher you want them slightly to the back of the frame so the MOTION has some room in the frame to move into. First shot is a bit too centered while second shot is too far back. In the second shot you can easily crop more to improve final framing.