TFP wedding coming up - couple of questions from a complete newbie to weddings

RezenRezen Registered Users Posts: 22 Big grins
edited May 3, 2010 in Weddings
So, I've participated in weddings as a groomsman and best man, and I'm married myself... but honestly I never paid attention to the entire photography process.

Next weekend (5/8), I'm doing a TFP wedding for a friend of mine. First wedding that I've ever shot! My wife (who arguably has a better eye than I do...) will be my backup. The bride & groom know that we're novices/amateurs... we're doing this as a favor to them since they can't afford professionals. We're also hoping to parlay this experience into something more than amateur work. Either as supplemental income or more ideally, replacement income ;)

Tomorrow my wife and I are heading out to the venue to "scout" the venue ... see how everything is laid out, any strange lighting or buildings, in an attempt to be better prepared for next weekend.

My main questions are (both for the pre-wedding "meeting" and the wedding itself):

1. should we bother taking any sample shots tomorrow during the pre-wedding meeting? It's a lot of gear to take out somehwere, but, being novices, we want to do our best for our friends and "get it right", especially since we're planning on using the best shots for our portfolio. (side question - we have a standard TFP contract ready for the couple to sign - any other suggestions, warnings, or advice in that regard?)

2. should we bring our tripod(s)? even just for the portraits before the actual ceremony, they are heavy and large and unwieldy. The portraits/ceremony is to be outdoors in the hot Texas sun, so lighting shouldn't really a problem. Fill flash should suffice.

3. any questions I should ask the bride/groom tomorrow, aside from what photos they expect?