Which lens?????

PixelCharmPixelCharm Registered Users Posts: 37 Big grins
edited April 12, 2014 in Cameras
I'm so torn right now.
I am a photography "enthusiast"

I love to shoot pictures of sunrise, sunset, landscapes, flowers, the moon.
Love to capture the city skyline......

I have a nice little array of lenses.
I started with my Rebel t4i - which used the EF-S lens.
However, then I upgraded to the Canon 6D - which I love, but cannot use the majority of my lenses.

So I'm filling in for now - and using both camera's.

I have the Tokina 11-17
Sigma DC 28-250 macro - which is pretty versatile
EF 50mm f/1.8

For my 6D
EF 70-300 f/4.5 which I'm not a fan of
EF 17-40mm f/4.5

But I really want a awesome lens.
I'm not a professional - I leave that to you real professionals who have made this your career.
I don't feel people just buy a nice camera - take pictures and think they are professionals.

With that said, I take pictures for me....

So here is my dilemma....
I am also going to the Smokey Mtns in TN late May

Do I get an EF 70-200 f/2.8 II IS- which is about $2,500 +/-
Or is that just overkill?
For my needs, I would be fine with the EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 II IS

Also , with that size camera, I do not think it would be possible, even with IS to take a stable picture without either a tripod or monopod, therefore, would I be just fine without the IS since I don't anticipate using it without a form of stabilization?

Any suggestions, advice would be appreciated.
If honestly it isn't going to make that much of a difference in the quality of the pictures, then I prefer to keep the extra $1,000 in my pocket, but if the difference is insane...... do I suck it up and get the good one?:dunno

Here is a link to my smugmug - if you want to see what I shoot....
http://www.pixelcharm.smugmug.com

Which Canon Lens 7 votes

EF 70-200mm f/2.8 IS
71%
ian408ChrisJdixonduke[Deleted User]Ostravaczech 5 votes
EF 70-200mm f/2.8 - no IS
0%
EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 IS
28%