Please help me choose a camera

cmalcmal Registered Users Posts: 21 Big grins
edited August 15, 2014 in Cameras
I have been searching for a new camera and the more I research, the more confused I get. I'm not a professional photographer but I have some skills and understanding of the basics. I shoot a lot of still items for my online shop selling mostly antique jewelry. I also like to do portraits and landscape photos. I don't want a large camera, because I'm old and would never lug it around. I would like to be able to set the exposure, the iso, shutter speed, aperture quickly without going into the menu too much. I also would need a good fast lens, as shallow DOP is critical for me. I don't care about video, IQ is upmost. I would like a viewfinder, tilt screen would be good but it's not critical, IQ and shallow DOP is the most important. I sometimes shoot RAW but mostly JEPG. My budget is around 700-800. I was all ready to get the fuji X100 as I was thinking I most likely wouldn't bother to change lenses anyway. Then started to look at the Sony A6000. Also was considering the NEX line and the Fuji mirrorless cameras. Can be an old model of anything, I don't need a lot of bells and whistles, just nice IQ. Can someone just tell me what to do, my head is reeling with confusion. Thanks all!
Please visit my galleries: http://cynthiamalbon.smugmug.com/

Comments

• jmphotocraftjmphotocraft Registered Users Posts: 2,987 Major grins
    edited July 7, 2014
    Your requirements are mutually exclusive, there is no perfect camera. Fuji cameras are the best for accessing shutter and aperture controls quickly and directly. I have an X100S, it's great. However any 35mm (effective) lens is not good for tight head-and-shoulders portraits due to distortion. To really do portraits right you need a lens that can go to at least 50mm, preferably 85mm (effective). If portraits are a priority, at your budget, check out the Fuji X-E1, or Canon G1X Mark II.