Cycling Photography - Races and Social Events

acauroraacaurora Registered Users Posts: 26 Big grins
edited February 4, 2012 in Sports
Hi all,

As someone new to SmugMug (and getting more involved in photography in general), I have taken quite a few pictures over the past year and wanted to see if I could get some feedback in shots I have taken and what suggestions could be made to possibly improve my photography.

My background is primarily in that I used to race on road bikes until I got into quite a few crashes and decided to back out, but wanted to still be around the racing scene. I have always liked photography, so I decided to get into shooting for these cycling races and social events related to the bike shops. I haven't really taken any photography classes, but I have tried to train myself at least in the photo management with Lightroom, Photoshop, and, of course, SmugMug!

Please have a look at my SmugMug, and let me know if there is anything you feel that I could improve upon. Thanks in advance! :thumb

I also apologize if this belongs in a different thread! :bow

Comments

• denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Administrators Posts: 14,234 moderator
    edited February 4, 2012
    You would be more likely to get feedback if you pick a couple of photos and post them here.

--- Denise
  • Moving PicturesMoving Pictures Registered Users Posts: 384 Major grins
    edited February 4, 2012
    Don't necessarily assume that a high-speed drive will be the cure-all for great images.
    Eons ago, when I instructed young journalists and interns in the dark art of photography for newspapers, I'd show a few pictures of a baseball player striking a ball, with the ball-on-the-bat look. And then I'd do the math, explaining how a three-frame-per second burst, or a five-frame per second burst was still too slow in terms of how much the ball moved in relation to the frame.