7D or 5D2?

J AllenJ Allen Registered Users Posts: 359 Major grins
edited April 12, 2011 in Cameras
I'm having a little problem deciding which one of these great camera's to purchase, and was hoping to get some wisdom from a few of you pro's. So I am just an amateur, and only shoot for enjoyment. Mostly pictures of my family, and our events. Capturing the memories of family life is, in my opinion, one of the most important photography pursuits! I would like to get into taking some landscape photos. It seems like the 7D is technically more advanced and it has the 8fps. But the 5D2 would probably preform better in low light conditions. I used to have a 40D with my 70-200 2.8L for taking pictures of my son at gymnastics..and I would have to crank that iso up to get a half way decent shutter speed...but I wasn't thrilled with the quality from that high of iso. But I have shot a lot of baseball/t-ball action stuff and really like the fast "frames per second"

So...would I have any more advantages with the FF camera over a crop sensor? They both are rated with the same shutter count guarantee. Both are pretty solid camera's, weather sealed, with the strong body. If I fork out the extra bones for the 5D2, will I regret it? Can I make do with the 7D? Or is the 7D the better choice here. Has anyone owned one or the other and decided to switch...what was your reason...are you happier now? I'm stuck on the fence..help me decide!!

Thanks.
-Joe Allen
My Smugmug Site

Comments

• pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,694 moderator
    edited March 13, 2011
    5DMkII is a great landscape camera, but not a great camera for sports.

The 7D is vastly better than the 40D was, and will offer at least one stop less noise at ISO 800 or 1600. With a little NoiseWare, noise should not be an issue for you.