Opinions Needed - Did I Handle This Right?

CyberSteakCyberSteak Registered Users Posts: 280 Major grins
edited February 10, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
Ok so I'm only starting out. Doing free-bies for experience and exposure. I took some engagement pics for a couple I know. Again free of charge. They've decided to use one of my pics to make their invitations with.

At first they were just going to get someone to do it for free. I didn't like how butchered the image seemed to be getting so I offered to help them design a card, again free of charge. They checked into a local print shop while I was doing this and got a price on a designed invite using the picture I took. I couldn't help but feel a little pissy.

Ignoring the time that I was putting in trying to help them design and invite, and not knowing that they were taking their business to a print shop while I was doing so, the fact that a local business was going to make money off of my image, rubbed me wrong.

They've asked for a higher quality photo so that they can use it for the invite. I told them that I didn't mind helping them out with that. But if they used my image, that it was my wish that the watermark stay intact. The only payment I'm getting from this is exposure and experience. And that watermark is the only thing that gets me exposure.

Assuming they follow my wish, my name will be discreetly watermarked on the front of the invite. Was that the right thing to do or is it tacky? I'm not sure how else I can get recognition for a photo I took without any monetary payment. This likely woudn't have bothered me so much if someone else wasn't making money off of the photo. But as it stands...it does.
http://www.betterphoto.com/Premium/Default.aspx?id=329340&mp=V1

Canon 40D, 28-135mm, 50mm f/1.8, 10-22mm, 70-300, 580 EXII, ST-E2, 500D Diopter

Comments

• SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited February 3, 2010