• Gear
  • Shots
  • Photo Craft
  • Video
  • Wide Angle
  • Support
  • New Stuff
  • More
Shots People Getty Image Invite

FAQtoid

Ever wanted to create an Avatar? Creating an Avatar!

Searching Dgrin with Google Searching with Google

Dgrin Challenges

Congratulations to the Winner of DSS #128 (Sunrise or Sunset), ShootingStar.

The next Dgrin Challenge DSS #129 (Silhouette Revisited ) is open for entries through May 27th, 2013 at 8:00pm PDT.

As always, we look forward to your participation but please do take a moment to read through the rules before posting your entry.

Past DSS Challenge Winners, DSS Challenge Rules, and other important DSS Challenge information is here.

Need some help with Accessories?

Tutorials

Ever find yourself wondering just how someone managed to create an image using different effects?

Here are three simple tutorials we hope will encourage you to try something new.

The Hot Seat

A lifelong interest in landscape photography has led Eyal Oren to make a study of his adopted hometown of Marblehead, MA. As you can see, his dedication is paying off!

Africa!

Dgrinners Harryb, Pathfinder, and others joined Andy Williams and Marc Muench on Safari in East Africa recently. Here are some awesome threads to check out!

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep-18-2012, 04:03 PM
#1
anonymouscuban is online now anonymouscuban OP
Inner Tube Pilot
anonymouscuban's Avatar
Getty Image Invite
Hey guys...

So I just received an email via my Flickr account. The email is an invitation from Getty Images to add 6 photos they selected to their stock image library. I know Getty Images is one of the largest stock image libraries. What I don't know if this is some spam email. It doesn't appear so based on the a cursory search on Google and the fact that the email includes thumbs of the specific images.

Any one else get one of these emails? I'm kind of stoked but not sure if I should be. Have to read the contract to see what the deal is on licensing the photos to them. Anyone else have photos on Getty Images and was it worth it to you?
__________________
"I have to keep our UPS guy employed so that's why I order so much stuff online." Quote by My Wife

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site
Old Sep-18-2012, 04:16 PM
#2
Hackbone is offline Hackbone
Always learning
Hackbone's Avatar
Can't help you there but if it is true a big CONGRATS to you!!
__________________
Charles
www.cameraone.biz
Old Sep-18-2012, 04:22 PM
#3
anonymouscuban is online now anonymouscuban OP
Inner Tube Pilot
anonymouscuban's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hackbone View Post
Can't help you there but if it is true a big CONGRATS to you!!
Thanks Chuck. Yeah... I've searched some more and it doesn't appear to be spam. Appears to be a legit email. It's pretty cool I think. Even if I don't submit my photos or if I do, that they ever get used. Still pretty stoked they would even consider my shots for this.

BTW, I also got one one of my photos of the rice terraces in the Philippines selected by Nat Geo for their stock library. Nothing's come of it but I thought that was pretty cool too.
__________________
"I have to keep our UPS guy employed so that's why I order so much stuff online." Quote by My Wife

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site
Old Sep-18-2012, 04:28 PM
#4
Hackbone is offline Hackbone
Always learning
Hackbone's Avatar
Right place, right time, and the knowledge to know what to do with it.
__________________
Charles
www.cameraone.biz
Old Sep-18-2012, 05:27 PM
#5
Sam is offline Sam
San Jose CA
Sam's Avatar
This is terrific news.

Absolutely submit the images!

Sam
__________________
www.samlinvillephotography.com
Old Sep-18-2012, 07:00 PM
#6
Bilsen is online now Bilsen
Not Like -- the Others
Bilsen's Avatar
Can't promise it's not spam but Getty has an agreement of sorts with Flickr so this smells legit.

Assuming it is CONGRATULATIONS
__________________
Bilsen (the artist formerly known as John Galt NY)
Canon 600D; Canon 450D; Canon S5IS
24-105 f4L IS; 70-200 f4L IS; 50mm 1.4; 18-55 IS; 55-250 IS; 580EX & (2) 430EX Flash,
Model Galleries: http://bilsen.zenfolio.com/
Everything Else: www.pbase.com/bilsen
Old Sep-18-2012, 07:27 PM
#7
Qarik is offline Qarik
Krazy Korean
Qarik's Avatar
clearly you should include a shirtless one!
__________________
D700, D600
14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)
85 and 50 1.4
45 PC and sb910 x2
http://www.danielkimphotography.com
Old Sep-19-2012, 06:29 AM
#8
Yaflyyadie is offline Yaflyyadie
Major grins
Yaflyyadie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnGalt_ny View Post
Can't promise it's not spam but Getty has an agreement of sorts with Flickr so this smells legit.

Assuming it is CONGRATULATIONS
^x2
You deserve it.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Carlos
Old Sep-19-2012, 01:18 PM
#9
Icebear is offline Icebear
Major grins
Icebear's Avatar
(wait . . . I only have two?!?)
__________________
John :
Natural selection is responsible for every living thing that exists.
D3s, D700, D300, Way more glass than the wife knows about, LR4, CS5
Old Sep-20-2012, 04:51 AM
#10
VayCayMom is offline VayCayMom
making real life prettier
VayCayMom's Avatar
yeehaw I am rubbing elbows with the right people!! I knew it all along. Congrats, that is truly outstanding.
__________________
Trudy
www.CottageInk.smugmug.com

NIKON D700
Old Sep-20-2012, 02:40 PM
#11
colourbox is offline colourbox
Major grins
colourbox's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by anonymouscuban View Post
I know Getty Images is one of the largest stock image libraries. What I don't know if this is some spam email. It doesn't appear so based on the a cursory search on Google and the fact that the email includes thumbs of the specific images.
It probably is not spam...depending on how you set up your Flickr account. A lot of people might not have noticed this, but in your Flickr account settings, under Privacy & Permissions, there is a item way down near the bottom that says "Make your photos eligible for invitation by Getty Images?"

If your account has one of the two yes options selected, the email probably isn't spam. You can of course double-check the URLs (visible and hidden) in the email to make sure they do come from Getty, but it's more likely that your images were seen by their editors and they liked them. Which is nice!

If your account has the "no thanks" option selected then you should not be getting those emails and the likelihood is higher that it might be spam. The theory there is that since it is a known option, some scammer might try to appeal to the egos of some random Flickrites.

But I'll bet what happened is maybe you didn't realize the Getty option was there, and it was on, and Getty saw your photos and decided they were awesome. Hopefully that's what it is!
Old Sep-20-2012, 04:56 PM
#12
anonymouscuban is online now anonymouscuban OP
Inner Tube Pilot
anonymouscuban's Avatar
Thanks guys. It's definitely not spam. I already check with Getty Images and it's legit. Very cool. I'm looking over the contract just to make sure I understand what I'm signing up for before I submit my images. Have to get a model releases for them but that should not be a problem.
__________________
"I have to keep our UPS guy employed so that's why I order so much stuff online." Quote by My Wife

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site
Old Sep-21-2012, 09:23 AM
#13
coolpinsky is offline coolpinsky
Arcadius Kul
coolpinsky's Avatar
cool - Im a Getty contributor as well - but just for a 2 months - If they sent a invite , they sent u inv for two Getty Groups on Flickr as well. Just Join :)

____________________________________________
Wedding Photography Ireland
__________________
Wedding | Portraits | Kids | Newborn | Wedding Photographer | Contact

Last edited by coolpinsky; Sep-24-2012 at 07:05 AM.
Old Sep-21-2012, 12:43 PM
#14
adbsgicom is offline adbsgicom
Texas-Sized Grins
adbsgicom's Avatar
Congratulations!!!
__________________
- Andrew

Who is wise? He who learns from everyone.
My SmugMug Site
Old Sep-21-2012, 01:44 PM
#15
Bryce Wilson is offline Bryce Wilson
Wants More Glass
Bryce Wilson's Avatar
Good for you dude!
__________________
http://www.fotofixlivonia.com
Old Oct-18-2012, 10:03 PM
#16
leitmotif is offline leitmotif
Weginner winner
Quote:
Originally Posted by anonymouscuban View Post
BTW, I also got one one of my photos of the rice terraces in the Philippines selected by Nat Geo for their stock library. Nothing's come of it but I thought that was pretty cool too.
Cheers to you! I remembered that post, the old guy and the wooden bikes!
Old Oct-19-2012, 06:02 AM
#17
Photosbychuck is offline Photosbychuck
Marshall, NC
Photosbychuck's Avatar
Congrats

I know they have copyrights on a lot of the Nascar photos.
I think this would be a great way to sell/rights to some of your photos.



Chuck Cassidy,
D300S, 50mm 1.4D,
18-200mm VR, 70-300mm VR,
www.icurdigital.com
Tell The World!  
Similar Threads Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New - JFriend HTML5 Slideshow beta release! jfriend SmugMug Customization 3569 May-23-2013 05:27 PM
Comparing Tools and Workflows - A Simple Image jjbong Grad School 11 Dec-08-2010 02:03 PM
WCC #11 "Roads, Tracks and Trails" mmmatt Weddings 50 Aug-01-2010 05:33 PM
LPS#8 feedback thread Shay Stephens The Dgrin Challenges 81 Aug-14-2007 03:31 PM
Skin-tone question for great EZPrints jfriend Finishing School 10 Dec-01-2005 05:38 PM


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump