Options

Copyright question

BaldyBaldy Registered Users, Super Moderators Posts: 2,853 moderator
edited July 20, 2005 in The Big Picture
There is a sculptor who is quite livid with one of our subscribers and Smugmug. The subscriber posted a photograph that he had taken of one of her sculptures which is on display at a public park. He has also left the ability to order prints on for the gallery that contains the photo.

The sculptor claims she has engraved a copyright notice on the sculpture and therefore the photographer cannot photograph it, display the photograph on the net, or sell prints of it. We have been unable to contact the photographer.

What do you know of each of their rights?

Thanks,
Baldy

Comments

• Options
    MrBook2MrBook2 Registered Users Posts: 211 Major grins
    edited July 19, 2005
    Copyright and artwork
    About the only thing that I do know is that photographing artwork is a very tricky situation. I am not a lawyer, but I have been doing a lot of reading on copyright as it pertains to photography. I don't know where the line is but I do know that as a piece of art, you cannot make a profit from photographing it without the copyright holders permission. Engraving copyright doesn't really matter, the work is copyrighted from the moment of creation.

A quick google with the correct search words (photographing art copyright) turned up this link: photographing art copyright. There are a ton of articles about copyright on the net, but as with all things on the internet, you can'tguarantee their validity. This may be a case where you guys would be well served by spending the cash to talk to a lawyer for an hour or two. I think that smugmug is covered pretty well by the "COPYRIGHT COMPLAINTS" section of the terms and conditions statement, and you are doing the right thing by looking into this.

Now, don't even get me started on copyright for buildings...

I look forward to seeing how this one pans out. Copyright law fascinates me.

--Aaron