PDA

View Full Version : Too good to be true. 5D kit for $1300


TaDa
Feb-24-2008, 10:27 AM
MODS: Not really sure where a post like this belongs. here or in the Market

One of the things that I personally really like about Criagslist is the opportunity to meet the seller face to face and try out the equipment before buying. That being said, this has to be a scam. There's no way that this guy can be selling a kit that retails for $2800 for $1300. A 5D and the 24-105L can each probably sell for that much (moreso the 5D than the lens)

http://newyork.craigslist.org/que/pho/584694694.html

NateWagner
Feb-24-2008, 10:35 AM
Yes, that is definitely a scam, I have seen the same "deals" here in tennessee. They are always for $1300 and they are fabulous canon deals. I emailed him one time and he said he lives in England etc.

Basically this is a typical scam... would be nice if it wasn't though eh?

APK
Feb-24-2008, 11:53 AM
MODS: Not really sure where a post like this belongs. here or in the Market

One of the things that I personally really like about Criagslist is the opportunity to meet the seller face to face and try out the equipment before buying. That being said, this has to be a scam. There's no way that this guy can be selling a kit that retails for $2800 for $1300. A 5D and the 24-105L can each probably sell for that much (moreso the 5D than the lens)

http://newyork.craigslist.org/que/pho/584694694.html

Used 5d $1650-$1800
Used 24-105L f4 $825-$900
B&H new price for the kit $2750

Tell him I'll take 6 kits@$1300

Harryb
Feb-24-2008, 12:07 PM
If it's too good to be true its to good to be true.

TaDa
Feb-24-2008, 01:04 PM
If it's too good to be true its to good to be true.

I've actually never worked with technology where this comment is more true than with photographic equipment. I'm in IT, and with hardware or software, depreciation is almost as immediate as when you drive a car off a lot, but with photographic equipment, re-sale value is insanely high. Funny how with my favorite lens, the 50 1.4, that you can almost tell how sharp it is by how much someone is selling it for:

$250 - it's nice and sharp at 2.8+
$275 - nice sharp copy at f/2+
$300 - tack sharp at f/1.8+

Cuong
Feb-24-2008, 01:48 PM
Don't waste your time and money on these scams. Spend your time shooting instead.

Cuong

Glenn NK
Feb-24-2008, 05:36 PM
Bookmark this site:

http://www.resellerratings.com/rlist-s1-n2.html

Whenever you see a deal that's too good to be true, type in the name of the business in the red box (Find Store), and go.

Here's are some good examples:

Type in broadway photo.

Result:

http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Broadway_Photo

Can you find a satisfied customer?

How about camera addict?

http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Camera_Addict

Nice ratings eh?

now try B & H photo

http://www.resellerratings.com/store/B_H_Photo_Video_Pro_Audio

Better ratings? You bet.

TaDa
Feb-24-2008, 06:07 PM
Bookmark this site:

http://www.resellerratings.com/rlist-s1-n2.html

Whenever you see a deal that's too good to be true, type in the name of the business in the red box (Find Store), and go.

Here's are some good examples:

Type in broadway photo.

Result:

http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Broadway_Photo

Can you find a satisfied customer?

How about camera addict?

http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Camera_Addict

Nice ratings eh?

now try B & H photo

http://www.resellerratings.com/store/B_H_Photo_Video_Pro_Audio

Better ratings? You bet.

No need to convince me. B&H is a top notch store and their service is incredible. I can literally spend hours in that store just looking around, and it's awesome that it's now two floors of electronic goodness. I'm heading down there this week to pick up my Tammy 17-50.

claudermilk
Feb-25-2008, 07:32 AM
Bookmark this site:

http://www.resellerratings.com/rlist-s1-n2.html


In general very good advice. In this particular case not so useful. Note the OP mentioned the "deal" is on Craigslist. No review of sellers available, it's completely caveat emptor there. Anyway I think we've pretty much concluded it's a scam.

Glenn NK
Feb-25-2008, 11:56 PM
No need to convince me. B&H is a top notch store and their service is incredible. I can literally spend hours in that store just looking around, and it's awesome that it's now two floors of electronic goodness. I'm heading down there this week to pick up my Tammy 17-50.


I could literally spend DAYS driving to B & H - I just checked Google Map to see how long it would take me to drive there - the distance is 2,959 miles - with and estimated of time = 1 day, 22 hours.

Even at 24 + 22 = 46 hours of straight driving, that would require an average speed of 64.3 mph which of course would be quite difficult even for me.:rofl

I bought my 12/22 Tokina from them. Sadly I did it last May before the dollars were near parity.

jgoetz4
Feb-26-2008, 04:34 AM
So is this: http://baltimore.craigslist.org/pho/587191932.html
Have a good day :D
Jim...

Grumpy_one
Mar-12-2008, 08:49 PM
Just curious, what's the scam? The links are dead.

ziggy53
Mar-12-2008, 10:03 PM
Just curious, what's the scam? The links are dead.

I bolded the improbable claim:

MODS: Not really sure where a post like this belongs. here or in the Market

One of the things that I personally really like about Criagslist is the opportunity to meet the seller face to face and try out the equipment before buying. That being said, this has to be a scam. There's no way that this guy can be selling a kit that retails for $2800 for $1300. A 5D and the 24-105L can each probably sell for that much (moreso the 5D than the lens)

http://newyork.craigslist.org/que/pho/584694694.html