View Full Version : Photography contest question
1ClickAway
Oct-13-2004, 11:49 AM
I entered a contest at http://www.circleofphotographers.com/ . They emailed me back within about 3 days and told me I have been selected to be a finalist in the contest but in order to win I have to order the published book. The site still lets people enter so I'm wondering if this is legit or a scam?
Andy
Oct-13-2004, 12:25 PM
I entered a contest at http://www.circleofphotographers.com/ . They emailed me back within about 3 days and told me I have been selected to be a finalist in the contest but in order to win I have to order the published book. The site still lets people enter so I'm wondering if this is legit or a scam?
its a scam
1ClickAway
Oct-13-2004, 01:04 PM
plain and simple, thanks Andy
tehltd
Oct-13-2004, 01:29 PM
I entered a contest at http://www.circleofphotographers.com/ . They emailed me back within about 3 days and told me I have been selected to be a finalist in the contest but in order to win I have to order the published book. The site still lets people enter so I'm wondering if this is legit or a scam?
probably a scam should not have to buy anything to enter.sorry for the bad news. Publishers are in business to make money for themselves, this helps them if you pay to get published, you are being used.
1ClickAway
Oct-13-2004, 03:16 PM
kind of a let down, but at least im not out $40 US:D
Head in the Clouds
Oct-13-2004, 03:30 PM
Howdy!
I did exactly the same thing! got an email back - was pretty happy about that, then thought .... hm.... might be a scam.
I entered a photo that was completely shit and got the same email back !!!!
100% scam. :wxwax :D
Rienk Mebius
Aug-13-2005, 04:07 AM
Howdy!
I did exactly the same thing! got an email back - was pretty happy about that, then thought .... hm.... might be a scam.
I entered a photo that was completely shit and got the same email back !!!!
100% scam. :wxwax :D I did exactly the same thing! got NO email back, but a database error, of which no chocolate can be made, as we say in Dutch. Tried to send this message to postmaster@circleofphotographers.com, for want of a better address, but no answer, so this site is to be let down.
Angelo
Aug-13-2005, 06:00 AM
Total Scam-ola
read more:
http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=7161
J.I.T
May-04-2006, 10:20 AM
Oh sure. NOW I find this link. After I spent money for 2 "manuscipts" and a plaque. I did recieve the manuscript with my picture in it. (I must say is wasn't a bad job). But have been trying to get the plaque that I paid for. The last response that I recieved from them, was that they would be shipping in March. Since that response in January, my emails have not been answered. This was the first contest that I ever entered, and was so thrilled to be chosen. I think I have been had. :dunno
I haven't really looked at this forum yet, but I love to take pictures. I look forward to comming back.
Jeffro
May-04-2006, 10:30 AM
Congratulations you just won $10,000,000!! In order for us to process your winnings you need to send us a cashiers check for $5,000.
If it sounds too good to be true...............it is.:doh
W.W. Webster
May-04-2006, 02:09 PM
I entered a contest at http://www.circleofphotographers.com/ . They emailed me back within about 3 days and told me I have been selected to be a finalist in the contest but in order to win I have to order the published book. The site still lets people enter so I'm wondering if this is legit or a scam?I have received outstanding business opportunities in Liberia, Sierra Leone, the Ivory Coast, Angola, Nigeria and any number of other African states, all entirely unsolicited. There are far more here than I can possibly deal with, and I'd like to think I can share this good fortune with others. I'd be happy to forward some of these to you if you wish.
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.