PDA

View Full Version : Buying MP-E 65 Macro lens in UK


andrewcollier
Oct-23-2009, 11:54 AM
I am wishing to purchase a MP-E 65 Macro lens, but where can I get a good deal without taking undue risks? Warehouse Express price is £809, del £5. Onestop Digital in Hong Kond have a very good price of £676, Post free and VAT free. http://www.onestop-digital.com/catalog/product_info.php?language=en&currency=GBP&products_id=393 How can they supply VAT free?

[FONT=Arial][SIZE=2][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3]The other source I like is an eBay site for £700 + £10 post. http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=390106433374&ih=026&category=30070&ssPageName=WDVW&rd=1 The feedback is excellent and looks genuine, although I know that may not be all it seems.

It looks like this is the web retail arm of Arbroath Camera Accessories (Scotland) They give a phone number and post code of the business, and a link showing it on Multimap.

It is therefore £34 dearer than the dubious "VAT free" site in Hong Kong, but £104 cheaper than Warehouse Express. It seems too good to be true, but at the same time genuine. Has any body used this site? All comments appreciated.

canon400d
Oct-28-2009, 04:41 PM
I am wishing to purchase a MP-E 65 Macro lens, but where can I get a good deal without taking undue risks? Warehouse Express price is £809, del £5. Onestop Digital in Hong Kond have a very good price of £676, Post free and VAT free. http://www.onestop-digital.com/catalog/product_info.php?language=en&currency=GBP&products_id=393 How can they supply VAT free?

[font=Arial][size=2][font=Times New Roman][size=3]The other source I like is an eBay site for £700 + £10 post. http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=390106433374&ih=026&category=30070&ssPageName=WDVW&rd=1 The feedback is excellent and looks genuine, although I know that may not be all it seems.

It looks like this is the web retail arm of Arbroath Camera Accessories (Scotland) They give a phone number and post code of the business, and a link showing it on Multimap.

It is therefore £34 dearer than the dubious "VAT free" site in Hong Kong, but £104 cheaper than Warehouse Express. It seems too good to be true, but at the same time genuine. Has any body used this site? All comments appreciated.

I live in Scotland and I have recently bought an MPE 65 I have used it a few times on here but the Macro moderator knows I have had back problems and I think I will have to let it go. Let me know what you think.

puzzledpaul
Oct-28-2009, 05:20 PM
Ian Kerr is the name of the guy behind the kerso ebay site. Google his name and you will find many - if not all, positive comments about the way he does business.

I've bought 5 items from him - 3 lenses (one of which was also an mpe) and a couple of batteries all with zero problems and with good comms and speedy turnaround - slight delay if you use the freebie bacs system as that still takes a few days for funds to clear (don't ask me why :) ) but items arrived very quickly after funds arrived.

I didn't buy anything via the ebay site, however, but direct ... and got a further slight discount (depending on payment method used) - he mentions this on the eb page.

I'd personally have no hesitation in buying from him again if the situation / price was right.

No, I have no connection with him whatsoever, other than being a (satisfied) customer.

Although it looks like you may possibly get 'sorted' via c400d, if you don't, google IK as I previously suggested ...and take it from there :)

pp